You are here

580b57fcd9996e24bc43c53e   LinkedIn Logo 500x500   Facebook logo square   Iguana Trans cropped

Primary Science Teacher of the Year Award

Why and HowThe Royal Society of Biology endorses and supports the Primary Science Teaching Trust (PSTT) Awards for primary science teachers.

Hence, a category of PSTT Primary Science Teacher Award, known as the Royal Society of Biology Award, to recognise outstanding and inspirational teaching of biology within the context of primary education within the UK school system.

Update: The 2018 awards presented in June 2019

Nicola Bolton from Heswall Primary School, Wirral has been awarded the 2019 Royal Society of Biology Primary Science Teacher of the Year Award. This recognises outstanding and inspirational teaching of biology within a primary school.

Previous awards endorsed by the Royal Society of Biology were for the following teachers:


Elaine Stockdale from Tongwynlais Primary School in Cardiff, Wales and Mary Haughey from St John’s Primary School and Carnlough Community Nursery, in Ballymena, Northern Ireland.


Kelly Thomas, Penllergaer Primary School, Swansea


Michele Grimshaw, PSTT Area Mentor, Burnley and Judith Carnelley, Shirley Manor Primary School, Bradford.


Beth Budden, John Ball Primary School, Lewisham, London


James Davis, Ripple Primary School, Essex
Lorna Stevenson, Macosquin Primary, Coleraine, Northern Ireland        


Kulvinder Johal, Northbury Junior School, Barking, Essex
Alison Eley, Hampton Hill Junior School, Middlesex

UK 3B Scientific Ltd is also supporting the Royal Society of Biology Award and is offering prizes to the winners of the Primary Science Teacher and School Teacher of the Year Awards.

More information about the Primary Science Teachers of the Year Award is available on the PSTT website.

We use cookies: to perform functions such as login and account management; and to track usage with Google analytics to improve our website. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our cookie policy.   I accept cookies from this site.