You are here

Our Honorary Fellows listed by surname:

A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z

Dr Federico Mayor Zaragoza Hon FRSB

Dr Federico Mayor Zaragoza is the president of the Culture of Peace Foundation and chair of the World Forum of Civil Society Networks (UBUNTU), where he established the World Campaign for the Reform of International Institutions. He holds a doctorate in pharmacy and has held many prominent faculty positions in the field of biochemistry including being co-founder of the Centre of Molecular Biology in Madrid and chair of the Autonomous University of Madrid. He has also served as director general of UNESCO and minister of education and science.

Dr George C McGavin FLS FRGS Hon FRSB

Dr George C McGavin is an author, lecturer, television presenter and explorer. He is an honorary research associate at Oxford University Museum of Natural History and The Department of Zoology of Oxford University. He is also visiting professor of entomology at the University of Derby. Dr McGavin studied zoology at Edinburgh University before completing a doctorate at the British Museum of Natural History and Imperial College, London. Read an interview with Dr McGavin in The Biologist.

Sir Paul Nurse PRS FRS Hon FRSB

Sir Paul Nurse is a prominent geneticist, president of The Royal Society and chief executive of The Francis Crick Institute. Notably, he jointly won the 2001 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for discoveries of key regulators of the cell cycle, knowledge of which will benefit most areas of biomedical research and could open up new principles for cancer therapy. He has held many prominent positions, including: president of Rockefeller University; professor of microbiology at Oxford: CEO of the Imperial Cancer Research Fund: and CEO of Cancer Research UK. Sir Paul Nurse speaking at the Royal Society of Biology launch event is available on YouTube.

Dame Bridget Ogilvie AC DBE FRS OBE Hon FRSB

Dame Bridget Olgilvie is known as both a prominent medical scientist and a leader in the field of science education and public interaction. She is visiting professor at UCL and vice-chair at Sense about Science. She had a research career focused on immune response to parasitic infections at the UK MRC before becoming director of the Wellcome Trust where she helped make the Trust a global leader in the field of public engagement with science.

Professor Venkatraman Ramakrishnan Hon FRSB

Professor Venkatraman Ramakrishnan is internationally recognised for his work on the atomic structure of the ribosome and is also the President of The Royal Society. He has won several awards around the world, notably; in 2009 he jointly won the Nobel Prize for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome.

Dr Lisbet Rausing Hon FRSB

Dr Lisbet Rausing is a historian of science and philanthropist. Dr Rausing has taught at Harvard and Imperial. In 2001 she co-founded the Arcadia Fund, a charitable fund, supporting charities and scholarly institutions that preserve cultural heritage and the environment Dr Rausing currently serves on the advisory boards of the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History, the National Library of Israel and the Cambridge Conservation Initiative.

Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell DBE DL FMedSci FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell trained in London as a physiologist and her current research aims to understand the mechanisms of brain disorders such as stroke and haemorrhage and to develop new treatment; it spans molecular and cell biology, animal and clinical studies. She is president and vice-chancellor of The University of Manchester and professor of physiology. She is currently a non-executive director of AstraZeneca and chair of their board science committee. Until recently she was a council member and vice-president of the Royal Society and chair of the Royal Society education committee, and was a council member of BBSRC. She has previously served on the councils of MRC, the Academy of Medical Sciences, CRUK and NESTA, she has been chair of the Wellcome Trust public engagement strategy committee, RDS and president of the British Neuroscience Association. Professor Rothwell was the founding president of the Royal Society of Biology.


A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z