You are here

Three educators have been selected for the final round of this year’s HE Bioscience Teacher of the Year award.

The award recognises teachers who have shown an outstanding contribution to higher education in the biosciences. Individuals can be nominated by their students, peers, senior management or themselves.

Dr Dominic Henri from the University of Hull, Dr Paul Johns from St George’s Medical School, and Dr Mark Steer from the University of the West of England (UWE) have been shortlisted for this year’s award.

Dr Laura Bellingan FRSB, director of policy and public affairs at the Royal Society of Biology, said: “Many congratulations to the three finalists of this year’s higher education teacher of the year award. This year’s finalists have demonstrated their commitment to student learning through their innovative, effective and research-based teaching practices.

Teachers in higher education play an invaluable role in equipping students with the knowledge and skills needed for the future, as well as inspiring passion for the subject. We are proud to be able to recognise and reward exceptional teaching through this award.”

Dr Dominic Henri is a lecturer, zoology programme-coordinator and director of student experience at Hull. In this role, Dominic is focused on creating curricula that develops students into independent, environmentally-aware and self-confident graduates.

While he delivers these aims at all undergraduate levels, he also provides teaching guidance for colleagues to take up these ideals through his ‘Assessment Therapy’ scheme.

Dr Paul Johns is a senior lecturer in neuroanatomy at St George’s medical school in London, and an NHS consultant specialising in brain and spinal cord pathology.

Paul has a longstanding interest in learning and teaching, with more than fifteen years’ experience in higher education, and has been awarded a number of prizes for teaching excellence and innovation, including the 2017 Farquharson Award from the Royal College of Surgeons.

Dr Mark Steer is a conservation biologist who works closely with other practitioners to answer questions of direct importance to conservation organisations and industrial stakeholders. Mark currently leads the Masters course in advanced wildlife conservation in practice at UWE, a programme run in collaboration with Bristol Zoological Society, and organises and runs a joint field school in Madagascar each year.

The three finalists will now each prepare and present a case study on their teaching methodology and practice, followed by an interview by the judging panel in March. 

The winner will be announced at the HUBS Spring Meeting 2018 on 18-19th April, and will receive the Ed Wood Memorial Prize of £1,000 to spend as they wish, one year’s subscription to an Oxford University Press journal of their choice, and one year’s free membership to the Society.

The remaining finalists will receive £150 and one year’s free membership to the Society.

This award is made possible through sponsorship from Oxford University Press and RSB Special Interest Group Heads of University Biosciences (HUBS).